The Savannah Georgia criminal defense law firm, Jarrett & Price, LLC, represents clients who are charged with possession of small amounts of marijuana. Under Georgia law, a person charged with a small quantity of marijuana may qualify for a conditional discharge program. If you are charged with possession of marijuana under an ounce, and you have never plead guilty or been found guilty of unlawful possession of drugs, the court may, with your consent, defer court proceedings pending your completion of certain conditions.
The conditions the court may order usually include the following:
Under this conditional discharge, if the defendant completes the terms and conditions as the court requires, the Court must discharge and dismiss the charges. Dismissal under this statue is available only one time. A prior conviction involving drugs disqualifies a defendant from the terms of this statute.
If a person is granted conditional discharge and fails to successfully complete the terms, the court may enter an adjudication of guilt and punish the crime as a misdemeanor.
A conviction for possession of marijuana less than 1 ounce is punished as a misdemeanor under Georgia law. A misdemeanor is punished by up to $1,000.00 fine, up to 12 months in prison, or both. The fine and imprisonment may be suspended, probated, or stayed according to the discretion of the Court.
If you have been charged with possession of marijuana less than 1 ounce, call the Savannah, Georgia Criminal Defense attorney at Jarrett & Price, LLC. We will take the time to review your case and provide you an analysis of your case. If needed, we will aggressively defend and be your advocate in court. Call us today at 912.401.8880 to schedule a consultation or use the contact form below.