According to the AJC, as of Tuesday, July 10, 2018, the Georgia State patrol issued 320 citation and given over 1000 warnings related to the Hands-Free Georgia Act. The Hands-Free Georgia Act has been in place since July 1. Law enforcement have stated that they will not be providing so many warnings forever, so drivers on Georgia’s roadways must change their habits as it relates to use of their cellphones while driving.
Under the law, a first violation will result in a $50 fine and one point on your drivers license. The second violation or result in a $100 fine and two points on your license. Violations of the hands-free law will ultimately result in increased insurance premiums as more points are put on violators’ licenses. The purpose of the new law is to make the roads safer and reduce the potential for distracted driving.
As the number of serious and fatal accidents on our roads have continued to rise the Georgia General Assembly faced the necessity of attempting to make Georgia’s roadways safer by penalizing distracted driving.
It is clear that distracted driving has been a major cause of the surge have serious and fatal accidents over the past few years. No phone call or text message is worth your life or the life of others with whom you share the road.